Dallas Transplant Institute Check Up on April 1st

I went to Dallas Transplant Institute on April 1st for a check up.   It was a normal day at the clinic.   They drew blood for labs.  Saw the nurse for vital signs and weight and then saw the doctor.   Was there about 1 hour.   My labs values were perfect.   Creatine level (the value that measures kidney function) was a 1.4 which is really good and is holding steady.  So all is well and I continue to have no problems. 

I was told that I no longer have to check my blood sugar every day.   Just do it a couple of times a week.  The doctor told me that I could do all the activities that I could handle without discomfort.   So I’m really only limited by my own ability to do the activity comfortably.

…. and I weighed the same as the day I left!  

I go back in one month, April 29th, for another check up and a Glofil test.   Keith has to do another Glofil as well and he was going to schedule his that day too.   So we will have a contest: Which kidney works best in whose body.   I’m kinda taking the Bum Phillips quote to heart:  “Bear Bryant could take his’n and beat your’n, or he could take your’n and beat his’n.”  I think I can take Keith’s kidney and beat him at the Glofil test.  I declare a challenge. 

We continue to feel very blessed by the whole process.  Your prayers and thoughts are appreciated.   I thank you all for all the support you’ve shown me, my family and Keith and his family.   

Scott

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dallas Transplant Institute Check Up on April 1st

  1. Brandon Weaver says:

    Glad all is going as good as it is.

  2. Nancy Blair says:

    Thanks for keeping us so informed. We think of you and Keith daily and pray continually for good health for both of you. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

