The sanctity of…..

Sanctity:  noun. ultimate importance and inviolability.

Just wondering.  Have we lost the sanctity of ….. you fill in the blank.  Family, relationships, worship?  I don’t mean in the political correctness sense.  I mean in the “true meaning” and “of first importance” sense.   It seems to me that every thing is faster, busier, bigger, showier, more over the top, etc.   Where is the time for true relationships, conversation and meaning?

One of my friends writes on her Facebook page about sitting on the porch in a rocking chair watching her children play in the front yard with neighborhood friends.   This almost seems “Mayberry” in 2009.  But it shouldn’t.  It should be the norm.  We should take time to sit, listen and watch.   We should take time to “Be Still and Know…..”   Know that God is God and we aren’t and that he has a plan for us if we will listen.  Know our spouse.  Know our children.  Know our neighbors.  Be still and know.

Have we filled up our lives with showy fluff.  Or is our life full of meaning and substance.   When we worship are we focused on God or the script (of the show)  and whether we “like” it.   What are we at worship for anyway?   

I like, no love, modern life.  I like the convenience.  I like the connectivity.  I like the information.  I like the productivity.    

But I don’t like the speed, hurry and fuss.  And bigger and bolder is not always better;  often not. 

If we are not careful we will lose the sanctity of living and worshiping and serving God.  If we are not careful we will lose the sanctity of thought, reflection, prayer and study all in the name of speed and multitasking.  (Can you keep from texting and checking email on your phone during church?  Mostly, I can’t.)

I don’t have this figured out or even thought out.   I’m just thinking and thanking God for sanctity. 

Remember the things of ultimate importance. 

Scott

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The sanctity of…..

  1. sheri says:

    I have to say Amen to this! A lot of people think that my kids are not involved enough in different things…but, to me…they are interested and enjoy being home, playing with what we have here, enjoying our home, yard, pool, animals and each other…it is amazing to me how well my two kids play with each other…sure they love their friends and enjoy getting to have someone come over and play – but they are equally as happy to enjoy just the four of us here at our house….that is a blessing to me because I sure enjoy being home!!!

    I agree totally with you – well all need to slow down, and stop and look at the wonderful world God has created for us and appreciate all that is in it.

  2. Becky Russell says:

    You expressed so perfectly what I feel! Don’t you think the time you had recovering was rediscovering what was important in your life. God not only slows us down….but sometimes stops us in our tracks and forces us to re-evaluate our lives, our relationship with Him and others. Thanks for again for your articulate way of expressing how we feel…..are you sure you are not a ghost writer for Max Lucado? 🙂

  3. Kate Langston says:

    Nothing like a front porch, rocking chairs, kids and friends. Life’s greatest blessings certainly are the “simple things.” I’m glad your family joined ours this weekend. I hope our visits become regular. Have a blessed week, Kate

Leave a Reply

