I’m Home….and I do mean Lufkin !

The doctor released me to go home on Wednesday afternoon.  So I went back to the apartment and pack it up with the help of Mom and Dad.  We then when out to III Forks for a celebratory dinner.  I told Sheila I was coming but we didn’t tell Lauren or Allison.   I left Dallas about 9:15 am after a Mom, Dad and I circled in my little apartment living room and said a prayer of thanksgiving for all God had done.   I left exactly 3 weeks to the day after my surgery.  My total stay in Dallas was 3 weeks and 3 days.  Amazing.   

I got to Lufkin about 12:30 and went straight to Brandon Elementary where I surprised Allison.   Sheila then spent 10 minutes showing me off to her teaching partners.  She was glad to have me home.

After that I went to the office to visit with my colleagues.  They were as surprised as Allison to see me.   I then picked up Lauren and her friend, Haley, from school.   Haley saw me first and told Lauren “there’s your Dad.”  To which Lauren said, without looking, “No it’s not.”   So, she was surprised too.

I brought Lauren and Haley home and Lauren and I took the dogs for a walk around the block.  I then took Allison to gymnastics.  

All in all a good day.

I will go to the lab here in the morning.  I will do that several times a week and will go back to Dallas Transplant Institute for a checkup on April 1st.  

I learned a lot.  More than I can summarize at this time.  I intend to post some thoughts about my experience in the near future.  I also intend to keep the blog going in some fashion in the future.  Hopefully, it will focus on faith and family with some soccer and photography thrown in for good measure.

Thanks for your prayers.  Please keep lifting them up.

It’s good to be home.

Scott.

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m Home….and I do mean Lufkin !

  1. Krystal Riley says:

    You told Jeff you would talk to him at 1:30 this afternoon. We had no idea you meant in person and not on the phone. So, at 1:30, Jeff and I were ready for you to call us back, and then Ginger said, “Well, Scott just walked in!”

  2. Don Skelton says:

    Keith and Kate:
    None of this was possible without the two of you and your incredible attitude of sacrificial giving and great faith. Kay and I are in awe of what you have done for our family. We have been so blessed by what you have shared of your lives so that our family could be healed and whole. You are truly special people.

    Don Skelton

  3. Becky Russell says:

    It is hard to read when you eyes are filled with tears! I could picture all the heartwarming responses throughout your day. YEA! Take care! Your old home town loves you!

  4. Kate Langston says:

    Dr. Skelton,
    Once again, thank you for your kind and gracious words. As you know, this experience has been an awesome one that has blessed all of us involved. Keith and I cannot adequately verbally express our gratitude to God as well as to the doctors and nurses and all the prayer warriors He placed in Scott’s path for Scott’s amazing recovery and great health. Thankfully, when words fail us, the Lord knows what is in our hearts, and ours are overflowing. We look forward to seeing you and Mrs. Skelton hopefully soon. Please give her our love as well.
    Kate

  5. Kent F says:

    Great news Scott! Really hard to believe it’s been 3 weeks. Wonderful to have you back.

  6. Brandon Weaver says:

    Great news. Congrats.

  7. Cheryl Anderson Jones says:

    Scott,

    We were at ACU at the same time and I immediately recognized your picture in “Baylor Proud” (our daughter Kelsey is a freshman at Baylor this year).

    Your story is wonderful and inspiring–I pray you will continue on a road of recovery and living your life to the full to glorify God.

    Blessings!

    Cheryl Anderson Jones
    Amarillo, Texas

  8. Connie Weismuller says:

    Great news!!!!!!!
    So glad that all has gone well. Glad to have you back in town. Take good care of that kidney and we will keep the prayers coming for continued success.
    Connie

  9. jane stockton says:

    Scott and family, Kay and Don, Keith and Kate:
    I am so thrilled that everyone is on the healing path and that our prayers have once again been answered. I know it is wonderful for all of you to be home and have the “lion’s share” of this ordeal behind you. We will continue to pray.
    God is so good!
    Love to you all,
    Jane and Tom

  10. John and Abby Pimentel says:

    YEA!!!!! So glad you are home. I know it is very sweet to be there. Blessings on you and your family. I know the Lord has been at work in this whole ordeal (as evidenced by the way He guided you and provided). Will look forward to hearing more about how this journey will be used to bring God glory. Glad you are home! Love you guys!

  11. Keith Langston says:

    Lauren,

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!

    Keith.

  12. Sheri says:

    Hi Scott – I was able to catch up on the Blog tonight. I believe the last I read was the night before TAKS ELA testing last Tuesday… I have kept up somewhat through Mom and knew you had gotten to go home and were surprising the girls and all – I think that is pretty great!

    I have been pretty busy lately…but had a moment tonight to really look at the blog and the most recent posts that you have made.

    I am so excited for Lauren. I get to see some of the High School Soccer stuff in Denison since I am at the High School and all – I can honestly say most the Soccer people I have had any contact with are really sweet kids…I am happy that Lauren was able to try out and that she made the team…hopefully I will get to see some of her games and stuff when they get started….that would be pretty great if I could get over that way to see some of that…

    I am very happy for you that you were able to go home…even more so for my sister and for the girls that life is pretty much back to normal and you are all able to be at home in Lufkin together because I know that it means a lot to you all.

    I have enjoyed reading the blog…I look forward to your keeping it open and putting in information like you mentioned…photos and that type of thing…as well as updates on your progress and recovery – it is all very interesting and I have really enjoyed it.

    I don’t get over that way much….seems when I think about it you all have stuff going on and it just isn’t good timing and then when school is going on – it is just not good timing either….I think of you all often and I keep up with what all is going on through Mom and occasionally I email or call Sheila and so I keep up through her as well…but this blog has really meant a lot to me and I look forward to cking it often.

    I will continue to keep you in my prayers and thoughts as well as Sheila and the girls..God has truly blessed you and Sheila, the girls….you all….God is an AWESOME God!

    Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

