Thanks to my family….

I just wanted to stop and say thanks to my family.  First, to my Mom and Dad who put there lives on hold for a month so that they could be with me.   They were always here waiting on me hand and foot even after I got better and could do many things for myself.  They made it possible for me to concentrate on getting better and stronger and managing my medications rather than having to worry about groceries and meals and washing clothes and all of the other things have to be done to run this “house.”   More importantly they provided love and support and encouragement.  Their company was comforting and made this process go so fast, smooth and pleasant.  

Lastly, they have made it possible for me to work everyday for the last 2 weeks so that I wouldn’t be “behind at the office” and could continue my production.  Also, they made it possible for Sheila to work and for the girls to be in school and be about their usual routines.   Without Mom and Dad this would have been an impossible task.   So, from the bottom of my heart, thank you and I love you.

To Sheila, Lauren and Allison:  Thank you for your love and support and coming to Dallas the last three weekends to be with Dad.  I know that you would have had it no other way….but that is what make the three of you special.   Sheila, thanks for running the house in Lufkin by yourself and managing to get the girls to every activity by yourself and never ever complaining one single time.   You continue to be a rock of faith and the best wife any man could ask for.   I know that no matter what happens in the future that with you by my side we can endure or accomplish whatever needs to be done.  Thank you and I love you.   Lauren and Allison, you endured all the disruption in your lives with grace and understanding and not one single complaint.  Your maturity and thoughtfulness is beyond your tender years.   You have been shining examples of wonderful children and I am truly blessed to be your Dad. Thank you and I love you. 

Family, love, support, caring, compassion.  All blessings of this event. All things I’ve experience before, but will never look upon the same. 

God and his Son Jesus have given us the example.  I feel that Mom, Dad, Sheila, Lauren and Allison lived up to that example in the last month.  Now is the time to see that example spread to other venues.  Where do we next show love, support, compassion and caring?   Will it be to our own family in a time of need?  Or possibly to an stranger who God puts in our path so that the love of Christ might be shown?  I don’t know where it will be and nor do you.  Just be ready with an open heart and mind and don’t be afraid to engage in a conversation.   Conversation alone shows you care and you never know where it will lead…..or where God will lead you.  It is kind of scary until you realize that God is in control and you are not. 

And to my “new” family:  Keith and Kate and their children.  Thanks for being selfless,  Christ centered, loving people who put me and my family first.  Your gift will never be forgotten and will be told for generations.  Hopefully, we can share our experiences and encourage others to be organ donors.  Hopefully, we can show  the professionalism  and compassion of lawyers.  But mainly, Keith and Kate have shown unselfish love and compassion to another family  — the type described in John 15.  May we all learn from Keith and Kate to put our  faith on the line when it really counts. 

Tomorrow is 3 weeks post transplant surgery.  I’ve been truly blessed. I give the glory to God to whom I say “thanks.”  And, I give thanks for the blessing of a wonderful family and extended family that has made life grand. I love you all very much.

Scott.

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanks to my family….

  1. Ann Watson says:

    Scott ,
    I am so happy that your road to recovery and coming home is right on schedule.
    You are so right, family is so very important and non of us could be the persons that we are without that strong family tie. Your love for your family is evident from your letter and I am sad for those that don’t understand that love or have never had that love. It doesn’t manner how old one gets or how independent, a parent’s love for a child will always be there. You have given your parents a great GIFT by asking them to help you and your family. I know you feel they have taken a month out of their lives and put their lives on hold for you—
    please understand (and I don’t even know your parents) that they feel this is
    truly a gift from you—-to be able to help you, an adult son that is independent.
    You know I lost my mother a year ago and every day I think of her—she was my best cheerleader because no manner what you do, your parents will always think you are wonderful and fabulous even when others will tell you different.
    Enjoy this special time with them even though it is not under the best circumstances but knowing you—I am sure you will treasure every moment that your parents are there with you.
    As I write this email, I suddenly hear your name on TV and there you are—you look wonderful!!!!It is the segment with you and Keith talking about ther transplant–think it is a God thing that suddenly you are there.
    Hope to see you back singing soon. Know I am thinking of you and praying daily for your full recovery.
    Ann

  2. Hollie Bartlett says:

    Beautifully said

  3. Renee Hauber Burroughs says:

    Scott,

    I doubt you remember me, but I graduated from DHS in ’86. I heard about your ordeal from Allen. My dad was diagnosed with Kidney cancer and had one of his kidney’s removed in Oct. His remaining kidney then failed – but somehow the ICU staff pulled him through. His remaining kidney, though, is only functioning at 27%. I was wondering if I could ask you a few questions about that…questions my dad wouldn’t answer honestly. Thanks and you and your family are in my prayers.

    Renee Hauber Burroughs

Leave a Reply

