Friday, Feb. 20th — Day Three at Clinic — John 15:13

I just returned from the clinic and all is fairly good.  My blood pressure is still a little on the high side.   We will adjust the medication and hopefully take care of that issue.   My blood sugar has regulated itself and I no longer am having to take any insulin.   After another couple of weeks I will probably not even have to check my blood sugar but once a day and then once a week.  My liver function is back to normal having been elevated in the recent past because of the medications.   So all that is good.   

My creatine level was up one tenth.  This is the test that determine kidney function.   There are several reasons that it could be up one tenth.  1)  It is just normal for me. 2)  I could need to drink more water.   I need 64 oz. per day.  That can be hard to do.  3)  Creatine levels bounce around and it could be that it is up a little today.  Nothing to worry about yet.   Just need to follow it. 

Of course we want that number to stabilize and not go any higher.   Going higher could mean rejection.   However, when you are monitored as close as I am they have many, many things that they can do to help stop and reverse those trends.   We will just hope that on Monday that it will be the same or possibly lower.   I’ll just have to make sure that I drink plenty of fluid over the weekend.   

Another good thing, the appointments are getting shorter.   I think on average they will take about 45 minutes after next week.   It only takes 10 minutes to get to the clinic from the apartment so we really have it good all things considered. 

John 15:13

Ever since I knew that I was going to have to have a transplant and knew that a live donor was a possibility I have been thinking about John 15:13.   “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay his life down for his friends.”  Last night when I got in bed I studied this for a while. 

Obviously, the actual giving of your life (to die for another) is one application of this scripture.   However, I think that this scripture means so much more.   I really think that it is calling for us to lay our lives down for our friends daily.   I believe that one of the applications of the verse is to be selfless on a daily basis.  Putting “our friends” first.  Considering their needs and their concerns first.  In essence taking care of them before ourselves.  Obviously, exactly what Christ did for us.   Also, what Keith (and Kate) did for me.   They put me first.   But you don’t have to die on a cross and you don’t have to give a kidney to “lay down your life for your friends.”  There have to be many other ways.   As I told one of my partners today,  every time I’m tempted to be selfish in the future I will have a reminder in my body of the selfless act of another.  (Of course, we should be thinking this way when we consider God’s grace — we just tend to take it for granted.)

The beauty of a blog is that it is interactive.   So the question I present is what does this scripture mean to you?  How do you interpret it?   How do you apply it to your everyday life?

Food for thought…..

Thank your for your continued post and comments.  I read them all.   And thank you for your prayers.  Keep praying that all will go well and that I can have this kidney for a long, long time. 

Scott

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Faith, Kidney. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday, Feb. 20th — Day Three at Clinic — John 15:13

  1. Jim says:

    “64 oz. per day” Look at the bright side . . . think of all the exercise you get running back and forth to the potty!

  2. Donna Anderson says:

    You don’t look like you just had a transplant!!! You look great! Glad everything is still going well. I have really enjoyed reading what you, your family and Keith have had to say. It has really had an impact on me. You are all very inciteful(sp?). Be careful praying for patience. When you do that God just keeps putting you in situations where you have to have it. You need to pray for peace!!!! Hang in there and let us know if we can do anything for you.
    Donna

  3. Becky Russell says:

    Well…your words pierced my heart. I needed to hear them. Taking care of the aged with a selfless attitude is sometimes a challenge. I think the attitude that we “lay down our life” is also a piece to this selfless puzzle. Gratitude and attitude are apparent in your blog and in Keith’s words. He was honored and you have been so grateful. I am not always so gracious….sometimes I grumble. Other times I play the martyr…..I may put someone else first….but not always with a song in my heart! I need to be reminded to give….gladly and with a prayer of thanksgiving that I have the opportunity and the ability to offer myself to others. You are teaching me…..young wise one! 🙂 Love you so much….and so happy this experience has brought so much reflection for the rest of us!

  4. Sheri says:

    Hi Scott….

    Hopefully Sheila is almost there with Allison….hopefully the flight for Lauren will go well….I hope you guys get some family time this weekend….I think it would be great for all of you. I am sure Sheila as well as the girls have missed you as you have them…..

    The Bible verse that you spoke of….I believe that is says exactly what it says….We should all have a selfless love and concern for others…..it is a difficult task sometimes because each of us are by nature selfish….but the blessings that come from putting yourself last and putting others first….well, that way out measures anything I could ever experience……

    I think of my parents and Sheila when I think of that verse…..Lord knows my parents have had a selfless love for Sheila and I our whole life….I know that I took that for granted many times…..thank goodness I have matured with age…more so experience I believe……..I have made plenty of mistakes and mess ups in my life but Mom always told us to learn from our mistakes so that we didn’t make those same mistakes again and I like to think that now…at age 39 (almost 40) I have finally learned to do that.

    The part that makes me a little sad about some of that verse is what makes me think of some of the students that I work with on a daily basis and the examples that they see each and every day in their home life….I sometimes see students that have sooo little, yet when they receive something very nice….they take it for granted or they expect more and more and more…..sometimes I even see them develop kind of a attitude of expecting it without them having to do anything to earn it…..and I know that it is great to give without expecting….it sometimes gets very frustrating when you see gifts being misused……or unappreciated……

    Then I think of what your Mom wrote in her blog of how you listen closely to the instructions that the Dr’s have given you etc. and you do the things you are told to do so that you can take the best care possible of your body, you new kidney…..I would love it if more people could be that diligent in caring for what they have been given and then the gift giving would be endless!!! Wouldn’t that be a wonderful world……

    It makes me really stop and think about the Social Skill teaching that I attempt to do in my class room….trying to teach students to appreciate and care for the people in their lives and the things…they are given……I am sooo thankful that my parents taught me that…..I hope that I will be more diligent in my own life in making sure that I show people how much I appreciate their being in my life……

  5. Kathy Yeager says:

    SelfLESS instead of selfish….what’s the song, something about “more of YOU, less of me”??? You guys have a marvelous weekend!

    Forgot to tell you that Miss Yeager received a blue ribbon on the picture she entered in the fair this week…thanks for encouraging her talent and being a super role model! Smiles, k

  6. Becky VanShoubrouek says:

    Scott, Sheila, Lauren, and Allison,
    I just found this blog, thanks to Tina Cook, though I had received news at church that the transplant had gone well and was so happy to hear that. You have been in our prayers, and in out thoughts, and know we know where you are and more about what’s going on. What I ALSO didn’t know was the amazing story of the friend who was behind the kidney donation. It is pretty overwhelming just to read about it — probably shouldn’t be reading it at work, the teary eyes and lump in throat are not a good way to greet clients and answer the phone! So I can only try to imagine what it has been for you to be on the receiving end of it. And what a concrete example, for those of us who have trouble grasping things, of laying down one’s life, as you write about. You’re right, we do take it for granted. We even, amazingly, take Christ’s death for granted, at times, or at least we don’t always get it, maybe because it’s SO much to grasp. I think something like this kidney donation, like I said, brings it down to more of a level our human brains can understand. It make me think, would I do that for someone? And it’s easy to think, as a parent, that I would do it for one of my girls without question. Once I move beyond that though, it becomes a lot more iffy. Excuses begin popping up, and my selfishness and lack of faith come into play. But I do love that you (Scott) say that it HAS to be something we can do without donating an organ or dying on a cross, since many of us won’t have that “opportunity”. That makes me want to start thinking and looking for those ways to be Jesus everyday by putting others first — and that’s something that really will require an intentional thought process and being fully present in our interactions with people — when it is oh so easy to be wrapped up in ourselves and our own stuff.

    As someone who has been the recipient of some serious unselfishness on your part in the past, I would say these are not new ideas for you that you are tossing around. I am thinking, however, that though you would never have wished for these health problems, that you may be one of those people who end up saying what a blessing this experience has been. How great to see you give God the glory, and how awesome our God is.

    You and Sheila and the girls, and your new kidney, and Keith and his family are in my prayers. I hope you get to go home soon!

    Love,
    Becky

Leave a Reply

