Comments from Keith

Scotty and all,

Good thoughts for the day. I agree wholeheartedly. I will add this: find out people’s name and call them by it. Doing so goes a long way toward showing what Scott talked about, caring about the person you are interacting with. Most people that Scott and I have dealt with over the past month or so had a name tag on and the same is true in many other situations. If the person you are dealing with doesn’t have a name tag simply ask them their name, they will be glad to tell you. There is a marked difference between “Thank you” and “Thank you John.” I promise that you will be able to see it in their eyes when they hear you use their name.

Additionally, for anyone considering a living kidney donation and wondering about the the time involved for the donor I would offer the following: (1) blood test matching (30 min) – no work missed; (2) physical evaluation (2 full days) – 2 days of work missed; (3) surgery/recovery (6 days) 4 days of work missed. I do not know if this is typical on the recovery time but I am writing this from my office 6 days post-op. At most I would think that a donor would need the full week off after the surgery and be back in the office two Mondays after the surgery (missing a total of 7 days of work). There is also a follow-up visit with the surgeon in 3-4 weeks, so that would require a small amount of time but no more than a regular doctor’s appointment. I hope that gives anyone considering a living donation an idea about the time commitment for the donor.

Finally, if anyone has any questions about the donor’s role in a living donation please feel free to contact me at klangston@nixlawfirm.com

Keith Langston

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comments from Keith

  1. Amanda Hutchison says:

    Keith–I am a friend of Scott’s. We are on the praise team together. I want to thank you for your generous gift. I had not thought of being a living organ donator–but I will consider it. May God richly bless you and your family.–Amanda

  2. Keith Langston says:

    Amanda,

    Thank you for your thoughts. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

    Keith

  3. Sheri says:

    Hey Scott,

    Great to hear the good news about all your lab reports again today! That is simply amazing and wonderful! I am thankful to hear.

    Tonight while at Church Jean Tillery, Yalonda Tillery Ivers, Tammy Jacobs Watkins and Brenda May asked about you. They all were very pleased to hear that you are doing very well.

    I am continuing to lift you up in my thoughts and prayers as you go through each and every day. Tonight I will begin to pray again for Sheila and the girls traveling mercies as they come to Dallas this weekend. I will continue to lift you, your Mom and Dad as well as Sheila, the girls and Keith all of you up…..

    What a blessing to hear about and get to somewhat be a part of! Thanks!

  4. Aimee Slusher says:

    Keith – I know that you have heard this a lot, but we are so grateful for your willingness to sacrifice your time and yourself for Scott’s benefit. I am one of Scott’s law partners, and we are so thankful for your generosity in helping one of the members of our “family.” I also appreciated your comments about our responsibility as Christians to help each other — this world would certainly be a much better place if we all followed your example!
    God’s blessings on you and your wonderful family!
    Aimee Slusher

Leave a Reply

