First Day at Clinic

Mom and I just got back from Clinic.   We were scheduled at 8:40 and got out in about 2 hours.   This was a long day because it was the first time.   Go back tomorrow at 8 am and expect to be out in an hour.  

All my labs are good.  Weight is good.  Ironically, I’m now low on phosphorus, which I was having to watch.   However, I can now eat what I want and that should resolve.

The post transplant clinic is very busy and there is a lot of hussle and bussle.  However, they really keep it moving.   It is amazing how many people they see and how quickly.

There is sadness in the clinic.  People who don’t have the support systems in place, financial resources, education or other resources.   Of course I have been truly blessed with a wonderful wife, children, parents and friends.  Not to mention a wonderful group of law partners who have made this all possible by taking care of me.    Thank you all.  (Plus I have health insurance which no one should ever take for granted.)   It is hard to imagine how blessed I truly am and how really easy this is compared to most people.

Of course, with the blessings come much responsibility.   I have to figure out how to make a difference in the lives of others even more than I have in the past.   Obviously, that should be our calling as Christians anyway.  However, I feel that I have new added responsibility.  It will be an interesting journey to figure out where all this leads.

Scott

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Day at Clinic

  1. Brandon Weaver says:

    Glad you are doing well, Scott.

  2. Mike Hunter says:

    Scott,

    Glad things continue to go so well. Your story is truly amazing!

    We miss you here. Anything we can do for you or your girls?

    Mike

  3. Susan Faver says:

    Scott,
    You do so much for so many people, and you don’t even realize it. You are a true friend, a friend that will always lend a hand or a listening ear. I know I can always call on you when I need advice or just someone to vent to. Thank you for that. I know if the situation was different and one of your friends needed a kidney, you would have been the first in line. Get well soon, and come home.

  4. Jeff and Cindy Taylor says:

    Hey Scott, just wanted to read your latest news and check in with you. Things sounds great, hang in there and be sure and let me know if you need anything.

    Jeff

  5. sheri says:

    Great news! Glad to hear today was a good day! Hopefully tomorrow will be as well!

    Take Care!

  6. John and Abby Pimentel says:

    Scott,
    We are praying for you. What an incredible journey you are on. So thankful for the good reports you have gotten and for Keith. We are also praying over your family as you endure this time apart. We love you guys.

  7. Kathy Yeager says:

    Wow…it’s amazing how God keeps putting those “blessing” reminders in your path…you guys are on such an incredible journey. The song that came to mind as I read your post was “Testify to Love” by Avalon. You and Keith are definitely poised to do that. We look forward to being with you as this journey continues. You guys are in our prayers for strength and continued healing!

Leave a Reply

