9 P.M. Monday Night – At my temporary Home

Mom and I got to the apartment about 6pm tonight.  I was much sorer than I thought I’d be.  Too much activity today.    When I got home I took two pain pills and laid on the bed watching a History Channel program about Air Force One and made a few calls.   Keith and I talked a while about our mutual experience.   I really appreciate the very thoughtful and well stated post that he left tonight.

I got a “sack full” of pills to take.  Many of which will change or be eliminated in the coming weeks.   The medicines would be in excess of $4,000 per month without insurance.   With my insurance it was $330.   It will be cheaper in the future as the dosages go down.

For those of you interested I’m taking 2 anti-rejection meds, 2 blood pressure meds, 2 antibiotics, 1 anti-fungal, 1 stomach acid reducer, insulin to reduce blood sugar which is raised by the anti-rejection meds.  Most of these medicines have to be taken in various dosages and exactly 12 hours apart.

I go to clinic at 8:40 in the morning.  It will either be really long or really short.  I predict blood work and more education.   It all sounds really simple on paper but is really quite complicated when it comes to keeping up with all the medicines.  Hopefully, as I get used to the process it will become more simple.

Also, I have to keep up with my weight, temperature, urine output and blood sugar daily. 

It will be very nice to not be waken up 3 times tonight.  However, it will be a little hard to get used to sleeping in a flat bed.  As much as I hated the hospital bed, it was adjustable and that helps sometimes.

More tomorrow.

Scott

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 9 P.M. Monday Night – At my temporary Home

  1. Sheri says:

    Good Morning Scott,

    I hope you got a good nights sleep last night. Hopefully the flat bed wasn’t too bad.

    Just wanted to check in on you this morning….hopefully Clinics will go well today and you won’t be there forever so that you can enjoy a little time just relaxing and maybe enjoy a little of the pretty weather that hopefully we will have today. I know you won’t be out and about a lot other than Clinic and after that visit you may be very tired and sore….but maybe you will enjoy getting to be out a little as you go to and from.

    Thank goodness for insurance huh? I can’t even imagine taking a bag of pills…ha! But, I am thankful for modern medicine and the progress you are making and will continue to make!

    Have a good day.

    Will continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers….

  2. Sheila says:

    Good morning. We miss you here. Lauren fixed four glasses for dinner last night. We are all fine. I am headed in to start waking up the girls and get us all off to school. Keith’s post is excellent. They continue to amaze me.

    I love you,
    Sheila

  3. Bart Stevenson says:

    Hey Scott,
    I heard through Facebook last night about your transplant. Congratulations on a successful surgery and bless your continued recovery. My sister, Lori, is a RN/Transplant Coordinator at Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha where they focus on kidney and pancreas transplants. She tells wonderful, incrediblely warming stories and I am confident that yours will be the same. I will be thinking of you and your family and look forward to reading about your progress.

    Bart

  4. Sarah Murray says:

    What wonderful news to finally be on your own with your mother’s help. Yesterday was Kate’s birthday, and knowing you had made such amazing progress was a giant gift. As you know, we are here in Lufkin, and would love to help Sheila and the girls in any way. Erin Bonner, another daughter, teaches with Sheila and also keeps us posted on the recovery progress. We are lifting you and your family up in prayer, that God’s almighty healing hand will touch you and heal you, and that Lauren can once again set places for four at your dinner table!! Much love and prayers, Sarah and Joe Murray

    • sskelton says:

      Sarah,

      Thank you so much for your comments and thank you for your support of Keith and Kate. One of my joys in life has been getting to know Keith and now Kate. Thank you for lifting us up in prayer. I really appreciate all your support. Hope to see you all back in Lufkin soon.

      Scott

  5. Hollie Bartlett says:

    Hey Glad you are in your new home. Take it easy. Glad you have insurance. Keep up the good work

  6. jane stockton says:

    Hi, Scott! I am so happy that you are out of the hospital. I pray the meds will all do their assigned jobs and that you won’t have to take any of them very long. i know your Mom is taking good care of you.
    Love and Prayers! Jane

  7. Allen says:

    I hope you and Keith don’t mind but I used the two of you and your situation as an example of altruism today during a lesson about animal behavior. I’m sorry for not getting permission beforehand. However, actual names were not used in order to protect the innocent. Looks like things are continuing to improve. We will keep praying for you all.

    Allen

  8. Kent F says:

    Sarah – please tell Kate a belated happy birthday from all of us. I was speaking with Buford Abeldt last night about the whole process and he was telling me how wonderful Kate is. Everyone is very appreciative of Keith’s gift.

    Kent Faver

  9. Keith Langston says:

    Allen,

    I second Scott’s comment.

    Keith

Leave a Reply

