Skelton Girls Leaving Dallas

The girls and I will be leaving Dallas early this afternoon. It is going to be harder than I thought to leave Scott in the hospital. However, I am leaving him under the watchful eye and in the loving care of his parents. I am so thankful that they are healthy, able, and willing to take turns being in Dallas with Scott during the week so that the girls and I can get back in school.

Back in November, when we found out that Scott would be placed on the transplant list, his paperwork first went to Houston. At the time, WE thought that was great since Houston is 90 minutes from Lufkin. This is yet another example of how God has shown us His plan. Working through two of His Dallas angels, Dr. Kim (Couch) McMillin (my ACU roommate) and her father, Dr. Carl Couch, we found ourselves working with the wonderful people at the Dallas Transplant Institute and Baylor Hospital in Dallas.

This location will be easier for Scott’s parents during the week and the girls and I will travel back and forth on the weekends. Please continue to pray for Scott’s daily improvement and for travel safety for all of us as we come and go.

We have enjoyed hearing from all of you so much. Please continue to encourage Scott through this blog. He reads every comment.

To Keith and Kate, you are family now. We love you. Be careful going back to Longview. We hope to get our families together soon.

We love you all and appreciate your prayers so much.

Sheila

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skelton Girls Leaving Dallas

  1. jane stockton says:

    I am so happy that you are doing so well. I wish Sheila and the girls could stay in Dallas with you but know you are in good hands. I will call Kay and Don when I get back from Austin to check on you. Travel prayers for you 3 girls.
    Love you, Jane

  2. ann calvert says:

    Scott and all…..we are thinking about you everyday and thanking the good Lord that all is well. Keep walking those halls and getting stronger. Kay and Don, we know you are exhausted but grateful. Please know that you are in our thoughts constantly. Love you all………………Stanton and Ann

  3. Nancy Blair says:

    Lee Ann was so disappointed she didn’t get to see Sheila and the girls but we decided to abide by the limited visit rule. So glad everyone is doing well. Many prayers for good health and safe travel for all. Love, Nancy

  4. Sheri says:

    Went to Church today. Several asked how you were doing and we passed this site on to several.

    Very Thankful that you are doing so well and getting stronger.

    Enjoyed lunch with Mom and Dad today – so we were able to hear some of the funny things that Lauren and Allison have shared since they have been in Dallas….would have loved to have seen them and let Chaz and Katherine see them – but we will wait until’ another weekend that might be better for all.

    I will continue to keep Scott in my prayers as he progresses this week. I will remember Dr. Skelton and Mrs. Skelton in my prayers as they help to watch over Scott this week.

    Sheila – I will pray specifically for you and the girls this week as I know it is difficult to have Scott in Dallas and your trying to be in school as well as the girls – but I know that you know he will be just fine. I hope you all have a very good week back at school and safe travels back to Dallas on the weekend….again – If I can help in any way I would be happy to…..I am not sure what exactly might help but I am willing to do whatever I can.

    Take care and know your all in my thoughts and prayers.

  5. Kent F says:

    Glad to hear Sheila and the girls can get back to school, though I know it was hard to leave. You were missed this morning Scott – but things are going well in Lufkin – so, no worries. The junior high boys will have to be sweet to someone else until their fearless leader returns.

  6. Kate Langston says:

    Sheila,
    I can only imagine how difficult it was for you to leave today. I thought about you often during the day and what your emotions must be. Even though I just met you the morning of the transplant, I was immediately aware that you are indeed a Proverbs 31 woman. Scott is in very good hands, something you know, but probably still doesn’t make you feel entirely better. I’ll be praying for you and the girls in your absence from Scott just as much as I pray for Scott and his parents while he heals at the apartment. I have no doubt that your days will be busy and full with all that you do and that before you know it, you will be back on the road to Dallas. Take care! Love to you, Kate

  7. Connie Porter says:

    Hi Scott!

    I talked to Shelia tonight at supper at the church and she said you had been out to the Cheese Cake Factory to eat so I would assume that you are doing really well. That is absolutely wonderful. It’s hard to believe that you had such a serious surgery less than a week ago and are doing so well. Thanks be to God and your wonderful friend! We are all still praying for you and your family. It’s wonderful that you parents are able to be there with you during the week. Continue to do well and do what the doctors tell you to. I could not believe how good your face looked in that picture. Your coloring was so much better. You will continue to be in our thoughts and prayers.

    Connie Porter

Leave a Reply

