A Day of Family and Friends

Scott was doing so well when we saw him in ICU last night that I feel like they will move him to a room this afternoon. As soon as he gets his phone back he will take over the blog again, so I wanted a chance to tell you what it was like at the hospital yesterday.

Scott and I arrived shortly before 9:00. He signed in and we had a few minutes to visit before Keith and Kate got there. I cannot tell you the emotion that was felt when Keith and Kate walked through the door. There are no words to express how much we appreciate their sacrifice. Watching Scott and Keith together was like watching two old college roommates. Their personalities and interests are much the same. It was easy to see that they became very close friends while working on opposing sides of so many cases.

Keith’s parents came by the hospital on their way to Longview to take care of the Langston children for the weekend. I was amazed while listening to Keith and Kate tell them where they could find carseats and the keys to the car that contained the carseats. They gave instructions as to what time to pick up the youngest children from preschool, and what time to be back at the house to greet the oldest when he was dropped off, then what time to expect the next oldest home from ballet. They gave soccer and basketball instructions and told the grandparents to be glad they were there on a night when not much was going on. Listening to them almost made a kidney transplant sound easy! Keith’s parents stayed until Keith was called back for surgery prep., then headed to Longview to see their grandchildren.

Spending the day in the waiting room with Kate was a joy. She is so precious. She greeted each friend and member of our family graciously and continued to tell people all day long how honored she and Keith were to be able to do this for Scott. Again, how can we express the appreciation we feel?

Thank you so much to everyone that was here with us. Your presence meant so much. I know many of you were away from your jobs and/or children. We love you all.

To those of you who called, emailed and texted – we felt your presence as well. I think Lauren and Allison got as many messages as the adults. There was even a prayer time held at LMS and a conversation over speaker phone at the end of the day. Thank you, teacher.

We love you all! I know Scott looks forward to being back on the blog. We will update as soon as we see him this morning.

Sheila

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day of Family and Friends

  1. Erin Bonner says:

    Sheila,
    I’m so happy for you all that the surgery and the recovery are going well. It’s nice to know that my little sister has grown up to have such class- I taught her well-ha. I just wanted to say that Keith’s donation doesn’t just speak for Keith but speaks for Scott as well. What a wonderful person and friend Scott must be for Keith to make this decision without doubt or hesitation. They’re both terrific human beings, and, as you know, your families are so blessed to have them. God bless.

  2. Jeff Chance says:

    Sheila – Becca, Will, Caroline and I had Scott and your family in our thoughts and prayers all day yesterday. What a blessing that everything went so smoothly. And what a great testimony each of you has been able to provide through this experience! Know that we will continue to lift you all up in prayer as Scott recovers.

  3. Bob and Virginia Knibb says:

    Tears of joy and prayers of gratitude at every blog. Scott, you are so right! There is more so much more than a kidney in this. (as if that weren’t enough)
    Virginia and Bob

  4. Sheri says:

    Hey Sheila,

    Just wanted to tell you that I love you. I am so thankful that Scott is doing as well as he is and I am glad that Keith is doing well also.

    I have been keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. I have checked the blog pretty much every day…then sometimes several times in the day…each time I am happy and proud to share information I have learned with my co workers and at one point with my students…..yes – I was able to creatively make a lesson out of the BLOG so I could officially have it up in my class room without getting a frown! 🙂 Science, Social Skills, you name it….even Technology and Communication….English…..it works! ha!ha!

    I hope to come that direction tomorrow to see you guys. Chaz has a hair cut at 2:30 and I am leaning toward heading that way after his hair cut. Charles may be going to watch the Caddo State Championship something for basketball, or he may end up coming with us…either way I am pretty certain the kids and I will be there at some point tomorrow evening….Chaz for some reason really believed that when I picked the kids up Thursday that we were heading to Dallas then….I believe maybe he has thought about the whole process more than we even realized….

    Anyhow – I love you, love Scott, Lauren and Allison and I am just singing God’s praises for how all of this has worked out.

    Looking forward to seeing you.

Leave a Reply

