What I’ve (re)Learned….

As I indicated earlier, I want to post a few comments about what I’ve learned, or really re-learned, during this process.   I think that there are more lessons to get out of this time than just a medical lesson or a new kidney.  (Although, the new kidney is important to me and I don’t mean in any way to minimize the gift that Keith is giving and the sacrifice that he is making.)  It is just that I want to focus for a few minutes on how Keith and I got here and what it may mean to all of us in life.

You see, I met Keith approximately five years ago when his firm began filing toxic tort cases in the East Texas area.   I was retained by a business that was being sued to defend them in these lawsuits.  (I won’t name the client or the exact nature of the cases.  However, you should know that I have notified my client who the donor is and they are absolutely fine with that.)   As many of you know when attorneys are on the opposite sides of cases they are “adversaries.”   Sometimes the adversarial releationship leads to great animosity and a way of practicing that attempts to destroy the other person or attempts to “trap” them in a mistake.   Thankfully, my client didn’t want their lawyer to practice that way and it is not the way I like to do business.  And Keith didn’t approach litigation this way either.  Law, just like life, is easier when you try to get along with the person on the other side of the issue from you.

Even though Keith and I have had thousands of cases against each other we became friends.   Where we could we helped each other and we never have tried to destroy the other person.   Our clients have been better off for it.  Obviously, it was personally more gratifying to practice law this way.   And now I will have a new kidney. 

In life, politics, religion or anything else is always better when we try to get along with the person on the other side of the issue.  Just because we are on opposite sides, adversaries with regard to our particular ideology so to speak,  doesn’t mean that we can’t become friends and be tolerant.

This whole idea was again brought home, literally, to me on Sunday night.   I dear friend of mine brought a gift by from his family.  Now his family is not exactly like mine.   We come from opposite sides of the world.   We have different upbringing, cultures, traditions and even religions.   Yet with this gift came a card.   On the front of the card was this:  “Don’t tell God how big your Montain is….”   And on the inside:  “….tell the mountain how big your God is!  Praying  for you and Trusting in His Love.”   And the quote:  “All that’s required is that you really believe and that you have no doubt.” Mark 11:23 (TLB)   How special of this friend and his wife to honor and respect me at this time with this simple,yet special, card.   How wonderful of them to honor my faith and views at this time.   (And this is not the first time. They also brought a gift when our daughter was baptized.)   Did I mention that we always take a gift and Eid and that our daughter has been to mosque. (How can we expect them to be open to us if we are not open to them.)  Two families making an effort to understand each other and to honor and love each other.  

Two of the nurses that were taking my blood and x-rays today, when told that a friend was donating the kidney, noted that God puts people in our lives for a purpose.   So who has God put in your life and what is the purpose?  Also, be nice to everyone,   even your adversaries, you never know when you will need them.  They may even change your life.

Scott

About sskelton

42 years old. 2 lovely daughters. Married to high school sweetheart for 20 years. Interest included photography and motorcycles. Time is spent with family, church and youth soccer teams. And I practice law some too.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Kidney, Law. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’ve (re)Learned….

  1. sheri says:

    Very true! Just wanted to let you know I thought of you this a.m. and said a prayer!
    Hope you have a great day today!

  2. Jim Denman says:

    Very well said. I want to thank Keith, his family and firm. While you (Scott) are obviously the recipient of a very special gift, in some way I feel like Keith’s gift is shared by all of your family and friends too. Thank you Keith for helping out our friend. May God Bless. We have had Scott in our prayers for some time and now we include you as well.

  3. Connie Weismuller says:

    Scott
    We have added you both to our prayer chain at the church, Do not be surprised if you receive cards and notes from members to let you know they are there for you. Personally, I am keeping you and Keith in my prayers for a speedy recovery and that all goes well during and after surgery.

  4. Kate Langston says:

    Scott, I just read this entry, after our long, exciting and successful day at the hospital. I want to assure you that this experience has been equally, if not more, of a blessing to Keith and me as it has been to you. What an honor for Keith to share with a man such as yourself with a family as wonderful as yours! I’m so proud of you both, and I give praise to God that His great plan brought the two of you amazing guys together. Rest up, and we look forward to visiting with you before leaving Dallas. Love, Kate

  5. Brandon Weaver says:

    Well written, and great lessons.

Leave a Reply

